Title of final Star Wars revealed – and film includes Carrie Fisher

The final part of the latest Star Wars trilogy will be called Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker and the movie includes Carrie Fisher, director JJ Abrams has revealed.

Ms Fisher died in 2016 after finishing shooting for the previous film in the series, 2017's The Last Jedi.

Scenes featuring her character, Leia Organa, are taken from unused footage shot for 2015's The Force Awakens.

Image: Daisy Ridley stars as Rey in Star Wars: Episode IX, the last film in the sequel trilogy. Pic: Lucas Films

The director told fans at Star Wars Celebration in Chicago the way that Leia lives on in Episode IX is "mind-blowing" to him and having a computer generated (CG) character, recasting or just having her disappear, were not options.

Carrie Fisher's Leia will live in Star Wars IX, director JJ Abrams has said. Pic: Lucas Films
Image: Carrie Fisher's Leia will live on in Star Wars IX, director JJ Abrams has said. Pic: Lucas Films

Fans have wondered how the final instalment in the new trilogy would cope with her absence.


Mark Hamill, who plays Luke Skywalker in the nine-film saga which began in 1977, narrates the official trailer for the upcoming edition, but Mr Abrams did not reveal whether the character, who died at the end of the previous instalment, is also brought back to life somehow.

The Millennium Falcon features in the film. Pic: Lucas Films
Image: The Millennium Falcon features in the new film. Pic: Lucas Films

"No one is ever really gone," says the voice of Skywalker in the trailer as he tells Daisy Ridley's Rey that the knowledge of a thousand generations has been passed on and that this is her fight now.

More from Star Wars

Mr Abrams, who spoke to fans before the movie's trailer was played, said the film doesn't pick up immediately after the events of The LRead More – Source


Sky News


Related Articles

Back to top button